Since its founding in 1905, Chelsea Football Club has had a rich history of talented players who have led the team with pride and dedication.

The role of captain is one of the most prestigious honors a player can hold, and many legendary Blues have worn the armband with distinction. Here, we take a journey through the captains of Chelsea FC since the club's inception.

Pre World War 2

* William Henry "Fatty" Foulke (12 April 1874 - 1 May 1916) was Chelsea's goalkeeper during the club's debut season in 1905-06, having signed from Sheffield United for £50. Known for his formidible size, he was at Chelsea for just one season before signing for Bradford City.

David Copeland

Bob McRoberts

Jimmy Windridge

Jock Cameron

Frank Pearson

Peter Proudfoot

Sam Downing

Fred Taylor

Vivian Woodward

Nils Middelboe

* Jack Harry Harrows 

John Priestley

Andy Wilson

Alex Jackson

George Smith

Baishe Bower

Tommy Law

John Townrow

Hughie Gallacher

George Barber

Robert Griffiths

Allan Craig

Jimmy Argue

Sam Weaver

Post World War II

John Harris

Len Goulden

Willi Steffen

Tommy Walker

Danny Winter

Roy Bentley

Bobby Campbell

Bill Dickson

Stan Willemse

Ken Armstrong

Derek Saunders

Stan Wicks

Peter Sillett

John Mortimore

Frank Upton

Frank Blunstone

Stan Crowther

Ron Tindall

Johnny Brooks

Bobby Evans

John Sillett

Jimmy Greaves

Andy Malcolm

Bobby Tambling

Ken Shellito

Terry Venables

John Hollins

Ron Harris

Tommy Harmer

Joe Kirkup

Tony Hateley

Tommy Baldwin

Marvin Hinton

Eddie McCreadie

Alan Birchenall

David Webb

David Webb

Peter Bonetti

Peter Osgood

Keith Weller

Steve Kember

Ray Wilkins

Duncan McKenzie

Micky Droy

Ian Britton

Gary Locke

Steve Wicks

John Bumstead

Colin Pates

Tony McAndrew

Dennis Rofe

Clive Walker

Colin Lee

Joe McLaughlin

Joey Jones

Nigel Spackman

Peter Nicholas

Graham Roberts

Dave Beasant

Erland Johnsen

Andy Townsend

Dennis Wise

Vinnie Jones

Paul Elliott

Mal Donaghy

Gavin Peacock

Mark Hughes

Ruud Gullit

Eddie Newton

Steve Clarke

Frank Leboeuf

Gustavo Poyet

Dan Petrescu

Gianfranco Zola

Marcel Desailly

Graeme Le Saux

Jody Morris

Chris Sutton

John Terry

Frank Lampard

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink

Carlo Cudicini

Eidur Gudjohnsen

William Gallas

Wayne Bridge

Claude Makelele

Michael Ballack

Didier Drogba

Ashley Cole

Joe Cole

Petr Čech

Michael Essien

John Obi Mikel

Chelsea Football Club